April card show.

Rich sure knows how to host ’em! I heard about a card show this past weekend, and despite knowing I should probably be saving for the National, I couldn’t resist.

When we entered we did a quick review of what everyone had, saw a few regulars and chatted for longer than the March show. That show was cut short since I had to run off and save the day at work. Surprise, surprise…

One guy that we met a few months back really caught our collector attention. He makes his rounds to all the region shows, and if I’m not mistaken is based in the Oklahoma area? He’s real big on buying out entire collections online, estate sales, etc. which worked to our advantage this month. See for yourself.

When we started pulling some Bowman, he showed us a Killebrew auto ball with PSA authentication and said someone else came by and asked about it, but that he knew we might attend and we’re huge Twins fans, so he told him an outrageous price for the ball. When he told us a much, much, much nicer price, it was one we couldn’t pass up. Seconds later the auto hound came back to inquire again only to find it had sold. :D. Funny how #TheHobby works, eh?

image

So he runs our payment, and I remembered seeing the Callahan’s, in particular the Walter Johnson. I checked through the rest of his display, pulling more Senators/ex-Senators, and two that were about the Hall Of Fame itself. We started talking about Ed Delahanty, his unfortunate Niagara demise, four brothers, and how it’s one of the great early baseball stories, and he cut me a deal on top of the deal I got for “knowing your baseball history” and “it’s refreshing to see younger people enjoying the early baseball history”. 60$ value, was quoted 15$, and paid 10$? …for all of those? Uhh, yes please. Kthxbai. Dug out the greenbacks and paid the man.

image

Again he remembered something after I paid, the 71 Dell sticker collection he just got. “I’m not even sure if there’s a Twins book in here, or if you’d be interested, but I could do 10$ for it?” needless to say, the wallet made a reappearance. I shared the entire book on twitter, and apparently my good friend/Twins historian extraordinaire Michael said he and his brothers had one back in the day. His was used for it’s original purpose though. Stickers! Lol.

image

Finally done pulling stuff, the vendor even threw in a Topps coins Twin for free!

image

Chico!

Finished the day chatting with Rich, and checking out with what he had that filled some holes:

image

I don’t usually get buybacks, but Angela insisted. Had I done them a once over, I’d have seen the 61 Washington Senators’ – wrong franchise! :(. Can’t take her anywhere. :). That 1954 Topps did complete my team set though, so we’ll call it a push. Heinie-Jo!

image

Loves me some 1955 Bowman. I think two of those 1953 Bowman ended up being dupes, but I’ll just exchange them at the next show – something I did this month with some dupey goodness. Thanks for that Rich. :).

image

I couldn’t turn this down. Eddie Robinson not a major name in the hobby, or really MLB…but how do you turn down a 1950s autographed card? Well, for one, if it’s this:

image

While beautiful, and I know certain Owls, NorCal-lers, and south paw-ers that would love it, not a Twin! Do you know who’s also not a Twin?

image

Minnie miscut-jo!

Dinner beckoned, and we left the show overjoyed at what we left with, the deals we found. See you guys in May?!?

#71-dell-stickers, #bowman, #callahans, #card-show, #cardenas, #killebrew, #pickups, #twins