January 16th Card show

I didn’t prepare much for this show, and only went in on a meager budget. What I didn’t enter with in funds, I did bring in trade bait. So, after selling some stuff I set about chatting with the usual suspects, Matt, Rich, and Kin.

Once we entered Rich couldn’t place where in a box the card was, but he had one for me. For a time on twitter, I’d used “Pimpin’ ain’t Parise”. I like to change it out every now and then, but this was the first time it earned me a card.
image

1978-1979 O.P.C. J.P. Parise. Enough .’s on that? Not quite the Parise I meant, but we’d discussed J.P.’s 11 second into overtime playoff goal previously. I haven’t entirely went all in on collecting North Stars, but “vintage” O-Pee-Chee cards are “pretty okay” with me.

image

From Matt to Rich to me, the story of a 1$ Larry Wolfe buyback. I didn’t have my Topps oddities binder with me to check if I actually need it, but I couldn’t pass this up for the price.

image

A newer vendor I haven’t spoken to had this in a 1$ bin with separated by team cards. Most of the rest were parallels and base cards from the last 3-4 years, but this Killebrew SP from the early oughts I -knew- without checking that I needed it. Stupid early era Heritage short prints.

image

Speaking of Heritage, Kin had a table setup at this show with a 1$/per special. We talked for a bit, and he’s coming around to sharing my disdain for newer sets. He said  he’s looking to ship out new for the old. Something I’m not entirely far from myself.

Side rant: New sets are great and I’ll always welcome new Twins, but at what point is collecting 15 parallels of one card feasible – financially or otherwise? Plus the deluge of sets being produced. In a perfect JunkWaxTwins world, MLB would accept other companies when Topps’ exclusive license runs its course, but limit the companies to a set or two a year. Archives has turned into the baseball movie insert/auto side set, Upper Deck went overboard with the SP/hit market, Panini could use some combining of cheap, watered down products(Triple Play, Team USA U18 and below sets, which this year will have players born after 2000!), and really how many years can Heritage continue selling – cause I can’t wait for 2036’s rendition of 1987 Topps…

/rant.

That said, will I turn down a one per box …maybe… box topper with Glen Perkins? Nope. The back:

image

Seated right next to each other, we spent quite a bit of time chatting with Kin and Matt. The latter of whom had a ton of junk wax boxes, most of which sold throughout the show.

image

image

image

Including the box of 1991 Studio, by myself. I’ve got the team set, and a completed, assembled Rod Carew puzzle set. However, I’m missing an UN-assembled puzzle set. The box completed that, and I kept an unopened pack that mentions the Carew puzzles.

image

What you’re not seeing is a huge stack of Studio junk wax base. I swung a “deal” with Matt that he could have the four Frank Thomas rookies I pulled, BUT he had to keep the rest. Self-serving, sure, but I wasn’t leaving with that. :).

But the TRUE highlight of the show, was their signing guest, Eddie Robinson. I’d heard previously he was making an appearance, and I knew he had been a Washington Senators player in the late 40s/early 50s. I’d not known that he had been a scout for the Twins in 1987 – I knew he had been a scout however. 1987 – Birth year, first title – a great year.

image

Pictured above, a glimpse of his World Series ring. Goose bumps. He looked in great shape, and still has a sharp mind for a 95 year old. The result:

image

Overall though I left with more money than I came with, but I got some great cards, and that awesome ball. Win-win.

