Ignore ignorance, collect knowledge!

Like most, I don’t just collect cards. The collect gene runs deep, especially in my case. I have several cacti that I care for, a vast video game collection(Nintendo/PC), World of Nintendo figures, and more recently, I’ve added to my sizeable baseball book collection.

Which leads to this post. I love reading about the Twins, but the books are few and far between, as they are unless you’re a fan of New York, Chicago, or California teams it would seem. I found my free banking credits had enough for a 100$ Amazon gift card and redeemed that for amongst other things six books, and a juicer. The juicer still has a learning curve I’ve not mastered – my juice is either frothy, or creamy… the books however have been great so far.

image

I’m most looking forward of the autobiography books to reading this one. I’m sure there’s been other autobiographies, but for the price this one was right. Plus, Jim Thome pens an amazing tribute foreword.

image

My current read, the shortest of the books I ordered, this details the key players of the 1960s Twins teams. Some are short and sweet, others detailed. My one minor critique so far (half-done) has been the write-up for Vic Wertz has no mention whatsoever of the ’54 Series or Willie Mays’ play….

image

I’ll be honest, I’ll probably not finish the other half of this one to the Cardboard Junkies’ dismay. But the only joy in reading about other teams is for the ex-Twins snippets. Ron Gant be damned. The “cards” weren’t exactly cards either, but a postcard sized photo without even so much as a pre-preforated division.

image

It would turn out I already had this one, but this one has more pages, and is hard-cover. Plus an upgrade in condition. Win?

image

I absolutely loved Summer of ’68, so I have high hopes for this book. The 1991 World Series, bias aside, is still the best I’ve seen yet.

image

Finally! The book every Twins fan needs to own. So much detail inked on these pages, great stories, and great pacing. I’ve wanted this book for years, and I finally own it. I cannot recommend this book more, and I know Michael and Devlin share that sentiment.

image

I also added to my Ryan Eades collection by scooping up a cheap auto #/35(at least that’s what the card says… #ThanksTopps) that I needed. I already own one that’s graded, but who wants to crack a 9.5 card/10 auto grade? Plus, now I own one of each should I choose to chase my PCs in graded and ungraded conditions.

The blog speaketh: Next card show is this Sunday, misplaced the Parise O.P.C. photo still coming soon.
Now Playing: SR-71 – 1985.
Now Watching: Kitten Party – leaving Netflix soon. :(.
Shoulder: Throbbing, dull ache.

