January 31st Card Show!

It’s been awhile since our last card show. Two weeks! I didn’t pick up as much this time, nor were there any signatures to get, but I did pick these up – highlights below:

45M3g0hg

Outfielder Miguel Sano. Still not used to hearing that. Dude can mash though. +/- 30 home runs this year? I’ll say 36, tapering off at the end of the season. If the Twins are going to be in contention, they’ll need his lively bat.

B3PcA_2J

Some parallels of Twins/Senators. Not sure whether I needed these or not, but always good to have dupes for TTM mailing. :]. Do yourself a favor and watch this video of the still spry Conrado “Connie” Marrero in his native Cuba. He recalls a game in that clip where Ted Williams smacked two dingers against him – a date which bbref would put as August 11th, 1954. While you’re checking links, do yourself a favor and read Corey Koskie’s write-up on The Player’s Tribune.

R8WKQxU3

Early/Mid-90s Fleer inserts. Again, I think I may have one or two of these, and until I get the card database up and running with all 10,000+ unique entries, I’ll have to suffer with dupes. Such blind, much foil. 

 

UtVIyvnqHYokZtXY

But Tris Speaker never played for the Senators you say! He’s even wearing a Cleveland Indians uniform! Oh, but he did! 1927. Plus, my collection knows no limits. I had a Todd Walker like this, but not this specific card. To the minor league binder it goes….

20160202_123910

Speaking of card #’s. Had these handed to me by Matt. Can’t complain about a “relic” and a #/d 199 Denard Span.

20160202_123850 20160202_123855

The big pickup from this show though was another 1914 Blanket. Longtime Washington Senators player, and eventual manager – George McBride. Great name but not so talented player, despite having four consecutive years of MVP ballot mentions none higher than 14th, George finished his career with a .214 batting average, 1203 hits, and 447 RBIs in 1,660 games played.

Can’t wait for the next show!

On-deck: More card show highlight/pickups – 70s printing error/misprint edition. Also, maybe a guest post by the litte lady.
Now playing: Alabama Shakes – I Ain’t the Same
Short update: I went through all the previous posts and added categories and tags for ya’ll. Should be easier to follow stuff you actually like versus all my rants.
Shoulder: pain free :].

#card-show, #connie-marrero, #corey-koskie, #denard-span, #doge, #george-mcbride, #lew-ford, #pickups