Collecting Rant

With so many releases over the years, it’s hard to truly know how many cards exist. For a team collector that’s bothersome – how will I know if I have 100% for that year, set, company? Why should we limit our collection to just base sets – where’s the fun in that? This post shows some of the more unique items in my collection.

image

Part of a line of games released by the Cadaco company. These when used in game would determine the outcome of the at-bat by comparing the numbers on the card to the provided board. Very simple, but unique – and if I remember right, it was a cheap thrift pickup.

image

Form what I read, these were issued as a mail order offer. I’m glad someone sent away for this “World’s thinnest porcelain card”, because it’s awesome. I love that it came with a stand, if I had more space or a decorative shelf – this would be on permanent display.

image

I’m not sure the mechanism of this game, but my Johan Santana still has its casing. Much easier to display than the old McFarlane figures too. The bottom section rotates through stats. Kinda interesting concept for a game.

image

These MLB Teenymates retailed in Target/Walmart and tried to play off the mini-fig, Pop!, etc. figures boom. Even smaller than the Heroclix figures, I’m afraid these wouldn’t remain upright for too long. Cheaper than all of the above though, 3-4$ or so for two random figures and two puzzle pieces. I just happened to get lucky and pulled a Twins figure, and traded my other with Tracy.

image

Many companies have tried releasing these via different distribution methods. Topps has attempted them throughout the years, but perhaps my favorite are the Salada coins from the early 1960s. There’s virtually no fluff – name, position, jersey number, team and a photo. -adjusts rose tinted glasses- Simpler times.

image

Given to me by Ivan, this Harmon Killebrew guest/media/press pass was destined to be mine. Shortly after last year’s National Sports Card Convertion in Chicago, I received this in the mail. Thanks again, Ivan! If you haven’t watched his Watch The Breaks series, you definitely should! Now! What are you waiting for?

image

I usually attend all the Twins games when they make their trip to Arlington. I had followed Pat Neshek’s minor league career, and was hoping they’d call him up for the playoff run in 2007. I wasn’t expecting his call-up to be one of the games I attended! Seeing his signing through-the-mail habits, I sent this to the Twins spring training address in 2008, and shortly afterwards the above came back. Now if I could just get Byron Buxton to sign my ticket from his debut. =].

image

Next up: More oddball items, show review, 2015/2016 Upper Deck Series One Hockey review.
Now watching: …Married With Children
Shoulder: slight pain.

#cadaco, #harmon-killebrew, #heroclix, #johan-santana, #kirby-puckett, #pat-neshek, #salada