The joys of completed team sets!

“I’m not even supposed to be here today…” – Dante Hicks, Clerks.

I was heavily debating whether to show up to the show yesterday, or to only attend for an hour or so, chat with some friends and leave… or so I thought. I got sucked in.

This past weekend’s show was hosted in part by a reviled, slimy dealer. We avoid him at all costs, and others have admitted to sharing the same “pleasant” impressions of the dealer. As you can imagine, we don’t like to associate with that dealer, but it was a free show…

So we show up and were surprised that Matt made the trip up from Austin. Matt among other things is quite the talker, with plentiful stories about players, sets, the card production process, etc. I was mid-conversation when Another__Castle motioned for me to check out a new seller. He swore that he’d heard of one of my private collections, Ryan Eades, and moreso that he had one of his cards available. I perused his table setup while he searched for this card. I found a few Mauer base cards, and was eyeing a numbered Harmon Killebrew cut auto from Tristar/Obak when he found the Eades.

image

image

I took the numbered #/50 Ryan Eades and added it to my ongoing Joe Mauer/Alex Meyer pile and asked what I was up to for my stack. When he replied a dollar I was floored and asked what he’d want for the Killebrew as he hemmed and hawed about it, a triple relic #/99 card caught my attention.

image

Three Hall of Fame members in Hank Greenberg, Charlie Gehringer, and Goose Goslin, the triple G’s, for the price of one. While yes, two never played for the Twins/Senators franchise, Goose Goslin played with us for all or parts of 12 years. Sure, it does have a “Detroit” team label, but due to extensive research I knew Goslin also played for the good guys without a Google search to confirm. :). While the dealer debated the Killebrew, I knew if I had enough I’d LOVE to add this to my collection. His hesitation clearly showed his attachment to the card so I was ready to debate which card I’d leave with: Goslin or Killebrew. However he gave a very fair amount for the Killebrew and figured I’d spare him and take the Goslin at cost without haggling. 35$ total for the Killebrew, Goslin and crew, and these assorted base/numbered parallels, I cannot complain about that deal!

image

To kill some time, there was a small debate with the Harmon Killebrew card from which set it’s cut card originated. Rich guessed that it might be from a Ball Street set, to which Matt argued it was possible and showed a few examples of Ball Street cards, but opined that it looked like a mail offer special order type deal from Tombstone or Jimmy Dean or something similar. I did my normal Google-ing and found that it belonged to Hillshire Farms from a 1999 Home Run Heroes set. Looks like a match to me. :). See for yourself below.

imageimage

Rich was shocked at the price for Goose and crew, and shared a story from the 1935 World Series and how Goslin ended the final game catching a fly ball. It’s very interesting of course to own something with that kind of baseball historical significance. But moreso for a Washington Senator. :). I went back to chatting with Matt, when again I overheard Angela putting together a deal, one in which she’d already paid by the time I noticed. Usually that’s not a good sign, and she’s been known to over value, but I was pleasantly surprised with her 5$ pickup.

image

2009 ALCS hero Alexi Casilla from a 2007 Upper Deck set with a numbered #/5 auto. There’s a big difference between Casilla and Killer, in both handwriting and statistics, however I’ll never turn down a cheap low numbered Twins autograph for the right price – busted prospect or Hall of Fame member alike.

While killing time I figured what harm is there in searching through Matt’s always rotating stash of oddball? Thank god I did! I finished my 1956 Topps team set and my 1960 Leaf when I added a Clark Griffith. The Tris Speaker wasn’t on my checklist, and I know it would have been a new card. I figure even if it’s not labeled as a Washington Senator, “The Grey Eagle” did spend one season(1927) in the national capital in the twilight of his playing career. Especially as the all-time doubles leader, despite his darker rumored personality flaws, this one’s another win.

image

My checklists aren’t always up to date, but seeing that Clint Courtney filled the only remaining Ultrapro pocket in my 1956 section was such a thrill. This leaves 1951-1953, 1955 a team set where I’m only missing Harmon Killebrew’s rookie card, 1957 where I’m only missing the team card, and 1959 where I’m missing Killer’s 4th Topps card as incomplete for Senators. With exception to the variations and grey/white backs of course. I recently changed my collection from 5,000 count boxes to binders and pages, and I absolutely love flipping through a completed year. Now I have another to enjoy.

Before leaving Matt showed me his latest miscut additions. Dude loves his miscuts nearly as much as I do errors, variations, and miscuts. I was able to pull these three Twins miscuts, and two North Stars from him as part of a future trade. A win in my book.

image

Which speaking of books, he included the book below in my final deal of the day.

image

image

Another Hall of Famer, ex Negro Leaguer, who spent all but his final year(Cubs) with the New York Giants, Monte Irvin to add to my growing collection of books. Easily my best show in a long while, and I don’t regret going to the show now. It’s a shame he passed away earlier this year, may he rest in peace.

Now Playing: Law & Order Special Victims Unit.
Feeling: Elated.
Shoulder: Numb.

#1956-topps, #1960-leaf, #alex-meyer, #alexi-casilla, #card-show, #goose-goslin, #harmon-killebrew, #joe-mauer, #miscuts, #monte-irvin, #north-stars, #ryan-eades