2015 Diamond Kings box break #1

I bought a series of boxes and blasters that I’m going to write about in a series of posts. Hope ya’ll don’t mind, but I promise the last of which is worth the read! My first box of Diamond Kings I got from Nick’s, a local store with plenty of fame for pulling really nice hits. I figured I’d try my hand with lady luck.

Diamond Kings promises two auto/relic pulls, two framed numbered cards, and a base set that’s half legends, half rookies and stars. It’s a Panini product so of course they can’t use MLB team names or logos, but the artwork on the cards attempts to make up for that. It’s a really divisive point with collectors with some refusing to buy anything without MLB logos, and some like me who really don’t care. While it would be nice to have the designs emblazoned with the Twins logo, with the exceptions of New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles for the most part you know who Minnesota means. Either way, here’s what my Box had in it:

10 white space filler cards, lol.
2 framed Diamond Kings – Betts base and Mathews #/99:
image

two DK Originals – Kershaw, Molina
image

two Nicknames – Musial, Trout
image

two Aficionados – Stanton, Tanaka
image

two HOF Sluggers – Dawson, Williams
image

one numbered 17/99 base Corey Kluber
image

two minis(Jorge Soler, Nelson Cruz)
image

one framed Diamond Kings dual relic
image

one dual relic rookie auto
image

As far as base, I only pulled one dupe – Michael Taylor rookie #174. In total – 55 base cards(1-150), and 26 rookies(151-200). Overall a very Cubs/Central division heavy box. Some of the inserts look beautiful, base cards look nice with matte design and painted appearance. Definitely one to check out again!

Next up: Goodwin Champions, Topps Heritage, Donruss retail.
Surgery: Bouncing back quicker than thought!

#2015-diamond-kings, #review