April 9th card show

Between card shows, card shops, and new releases, it’s been a busy time to be a collector in Dallas. The day after I pulled the previous post’s Babe Ruth card, there was yet another card show to attended – and of course show off the Ruth. Because who wouldn’t? The show started pretty slow, some interesting mis-cuts to look at, and then near the end of the show, I picked up a key Topps card for my Twins team set at quite a steal of a price!

So for starters we were greeted by Rich telling us a new dealer was here who had ALL the inserts anyone could want from the junk wax era til now. I was also warned by Matt about the same dealer that I could probably spend my entire show budget there. Well, they weren’t wrong! This dealer had rows and rows of cheap inserts, parallels for Topps, Donruss, Upper Deck, and a few other sets here and there. I ended up leaving with two Twins buybacks(1977 Craig Kusick, 1964 Jimmie Hall) from Heritage a few years back, and a few parallel cards #/2012, 2013, and 2014. I had to resist the urge to spend more, as the guy had a ton that the next time he comes up for a show I’ll have a better checklist hopefully to cross off some parallel Twins.

After checking out his booth, I headed over to Matt and Rich’s area to chat. They were talking about some miscuts that Rich found for Matt’s collection, and I posted several of which on Twitter(here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11).

CftchFtUUAAamy1But one in particular caught my attention, it was the above high series 1968 Topps sideways facing card with a forearm and the letters “E” near the bottom.

Cftc3D0UMAETuN3The back though was the big give away for me – it has the heading for the next card on the sheet, “SUPER STARS”. For those who haven’t clued in, one of the only high series cards with that heading is #490, Harmon Killebrew, Willie Mays, Mickey Mantle. Checking COMC, the forearm and jersey match Mantle on the front as well as the position of the “E”. Without a shadow of a doubt, this was the next card on the sheet sharing a mis-cut border with Bill Freehan on front.

Finally, at the end of the show I went to Kyle’s booth to see if he still had his Rod Carew rookie. For the most part, the only cards missing on the Twins checklist are high-series #500s or above. Rod Carew’s rookie is no exception, #569 was one of three that I was missing for the 1967 team set, and this is the beautiful card takes it off my list:

CfuoqyxUIAA4Pbr

The corners aren’t super sharp, and there’s the TINIEST hint of a crease on the front. However it’s shape fits in line with the rest of my Twins, if it’s not better!

So he checked the average prices on ebay, and asked how I wanted to do this: negotiation, back and forth, or straight forward here’s a price. I’m not one to barter, and I knew I didn’t have much he’d want, so I told him that I’m a huge Twins collector and I’m not gonna fight over price. Either yours is the one I’ll add to my binder or not. So when he said 40$ I couldn’t whip out my paypal password fast enough. Ebay prices have it averaging between 80$-120$ for similar or worse conditioned cards. Yet another steal for the Twins collection. With Harmon Killebrew’s 1955 Topps, Rod Carew’s 1967 Topps, and Kirby Puckett’s 1985 Topps/Topps Tiffany/O-Pee-Chee/Leaf/Donruss/Fleer out of the way, only Harmon Killebrew’s 1955 Topps Double-Header and Kirby Puckett’s 1984 Fleer Update remain as expensive, main additions. Not too shabby.

#1967, #1968, #harmon-killebrew, #mickey-mantle, #miscuts, #rant, #rod-carew, #topps, #willie-mays